The Governing Committee and Counselors

The Governing Committee carries out the decisions of the Council, approves the annual budgets and proposals prepared by the Secretariat and monitors the implementation by the Secretariat of the Council’s decisions. The Committee is composed of the ICMC President, the Vice-President, the Treasurer, the Secretary and regional representatives all of whom are elected by the Council for a mandate of four years.



Elected Members
  • H.E. John Cardinal Njue (Kenya) - Vice President
  • H.E. Archbishop Samuel J. Aquila (USA) - Treasurer
  • H.E. Christoph Cardinal Schönborn (Austria)
  • H.E. Thomas Christopher Cardinal Collins (Canada)
  • H.E. Oscar Andres Cardinal Rodriguez Maradiaga (Honduras)
  • His Beatitude Gregorios III (Syria)
  • H.E. Archbishop Emilio Carlos Belaunzarán (Mexico)
  • H.E. Bishop Joseph Pibul Visitnondachai (Thailand)
  • H.E. Archbishop Simon Ntamwana (Burundi)
  • Sr. Maryanne Loughry (Australia)
Representatives of the Dicastery for the Promotion of Integral Human Development (Holy See)
  • H. E. Archbishop Silvano M. Tomasi, C.S., Active Secretary
  • Rev. Father Michael Czerny, S.J., Co-Secretary, Section for Refugees and Migrants
  • Rev. Father Fabio Baggio, C.S., Co-Secretary, Section for Refugees and Migrants
  • H.E. Bishop Nicholas DiMarzio (USA)
  • Rev. Mons. Slawomir D. Kawecki (Poland)
  • Sr. Janete Ferreira (Ecuador)
  • Mrs. Anne Dussart (Belgium)
  • Mr. Keith Parsons (USA)
  • Mr. William Wise (USA)
  • Mr. William Canny (USA)